Farmers Market

Last Saturday I made my first visit of the season to our local farmers market. I get such a kick out of seeing all the lovely fresh produce, and I was looking forward to seeing what was on offer after such a long, cold winter.

Farmers & Artisans market at Farmington Michigan

photo by Scott Stevenson of Artziephartzie graphic design

The organic stand where I buy most of my veggies was open. I picked up fresh greens: salad mix, Swiss chard, and kale—a mix of curly and the smooth dark-leaved varieties. A bunch of asparagus—it seems late for it, but everything will probably be late this year. That’s fine with me; we haven’t actually had local asparagus yet this spring.

There were even tomatoes, though these were marked “not organic.” I took a couple of little ones; local produce is less likely to have been sprayed, and a lot goes into the process of official organic certification, so maybe their greenhouse plants still had a few hoops to jump through.

I bought scallions/green onions from another vendor: nice big, fat white bulbs that will be lovely with salads and other cold dishes.

Funny, cooking wasn’t on my radar of things I thought I’d enjoy when I left the day job, but it’s been a big part of my new life. It was such a pleasure to get home with my finds and start rinsing the kale, getting it ready to steam for a yummy kale sandwich (tortilla spread with my favorite mustard; greens topped with freshly squeezed lemon juice and garlic powder). I’m not eating completely vegetarian, but I’m enjoying more vegetable courses than before.

Most of all, I love the feeling of unity with the earth that eating and buying organic gives me. It makes everything hang together: the health of the soil, the planet, and the health of the people who tend it and eat it. It gives a feeling of harmony, and puts me in mind of one of my favorite “saints”: poet-farmer Wendell Berry, whose writings celebrate the earth and those who care for it.

Welcome, Summer and Spring!

 

5 Comments

  1. June 1, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    I love the farmer’s market. I do a CSA so each week I get a big box of yummy vegetables.

    • Nancy Adams said,

      June 2, 2014 at 5:12 pm

      Yes, local produce is wonderful. What’s a CSA? Is that where you subscribe ahead of time? I know there are places around here that offer that, too. I’m really lucky that ours is only five minutes away.

      • June 2, 2014 at 5:26 pm

        Hey Nancy. Yes, it’s Community Supported Agriculture. You buy a share for a set price and each week you get a box of whatever they are harvesting. We’ve been with the same local organic farm for like 12 years, and we pick up the box five minutes from our house also.

  2. Elouise said,

    June 2, 2014 at 10:23 am

    Now I’m hungry again, and it’s only 10:20am! Thanks, Nancy. Great peek into your life without the day job.
    Elouise

    • Nancy Adams said,

      June 2, 2014 at 5:13 pm

      Glad you enjoyed the post, Elouise. Between the farmers markets and Trader Joe’s, I’ve pretty much got all the goodies I need. I feel very lucky.


Leave a Reply

