Cats and Dragons (Here there be Dragons; 3rd in an occasional series)

I generally try to avoid controversial topics, but here I boldly venture the opinion that those who love dragons are predisposed to also love cats.

My Dragon Cat by artist Amelie Hutt Smirtouille

My Dragon Cat by artist Amelie Hutt Smirtouille from Digital Art Gallery Online

Cats, like dragons, are predators. They may not breathe fire (though they are fond of warmth), but cats have often been accused of being selfish and standoffish. I daresay the same accusations have often been lobbed at dragons as well.

Why then are some of us so attracted to these predatory creatures?

To begin with, they are quite pleasing to look at. Both dragons and cats have graceful, sinuous bodies and long, equally sinuous tails. (“Sinuous” is one of my favorite words.) Both seem to grin, rather like Alice’s crocodile, a grin of deep and somewhat smug self-satisfaction that is nevertheless quite attractive.

In a previous post, I discussed the mysterious attraction that predatory animals hold for many of us: the way that raptors, owls, wolves, and big cats, among others, inspire us with feelings of wonder and awe. The love I hold for dragons and cats is a somewhat more domesticated version of this, and the feelings they incite are a safer, more comfortable and cozy sentiment that is removed from the dangers of the true wild. The house cat,  a domesticated version of the wild’s tigers and lions, pleases cat lovers in part because its presence combines the pleasures of domesticity with the vicarious excitement of wild things in the same way that lovers of mystery enjoy curling up by the fireside with the latest thriller or a classically gruesome tale by Poe (often with a cat curled up on one’s lap). In the same way, dragons offer a similar sort of vicarious thrill as we read or view their adventures from the comfortable safety of our favorite couch or reading nook.

So, fellow dragons lovers, it’s time to weigh in. Are you cat people or fonder of dogs? I’m curious to know!

5 Comments

  1. January 23, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    I am a dragon lover who also loves cats AND owls.🙂 While all three are predatory creatures, I do tend to appreciate their other traits more than that one. All three are in some ways associated with wisdom and the spiritual, and I think that’s what I like best.

    • Nancy Adams said,

      January 23, 2014 at 2:22 pm

      Hi NIcole,

      I love owls, too. In fact, last year’s calendar was all owls! And I didn’t get tired of them at all.

      You’re right that all three have associations with wisdom and the spiritual, and that’s certainly part of the allure.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. January 24, 2014 at 1:00 am

    Owls,cats,dragons- loving all of these- a lot and i guess their links to wisdom,mystery and fantasy. Though a warm purring cat on one’s lap is just pure comfort .

    • Nancy Adams said,

      January 24, 2014 at 10:16 am

      Couldn’t agree more. And I love your little owl avatar!

      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Hellga said,

    July 19, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    I love dragons – and I am a cat lover (all cats from the tiniest domestic Singapura to the largest Siberian tiger). And I agree that they have much in common… I happen to love real-life crocodiles and lizards of all kinds as well.🙂


Leave a Reply

