LOL

Yesterday afternoon I was reading on the train, minding my own business, when a young man seated in front of me turned to give me a look.

What was his problem? All I was doing was reading, right?

Well . . . um, I was laughing, too.

Chuckling, chortling, burbling with glee. In my hands was Gail Carriger’s newest vampire-werewolf-steampunk-and-parasol confection.

The heroine’s two-year-old daughter had just turned into a werewolf cub, dashing about the public room of a first-class ocean liner , tossing her diapers but retaining her frilly dress. Prior to that, there was a scene with the heroine’s dear friend, Ivy, that was worthy of Monty Python. Silly Walks, to be exact.

If I’d been sitting in the privacy of my own home, I would have been rolling on the couch, screaming with laughter.

I assure you, I restrained myself: no rolling or screaming on the train.

The last time I remember this happening was when I was reading Ken Harmon’s THE FATMAN: a North-Pole Noir. Think “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” narrated not by the avuncular voice of Burl Ives but a raspy-throated Humphrey Bogart channeling Philip Marlowe or some other noir flatfoot.

The cover says it all.

Anyway, nobody looked at me that time. Maybe they all had their earphones on.

Dear Reader, has anything like this ever happened to you? Please tell me I’m not the only one!

2 Comments

  1. Grace Topping said,

    March 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Glad to know that I’m not the only one who laughs out loud at what I am reading. While commuting to work, I listened to recorded books. Any book by Susan Elizabeth Phillips had me laughing so hard I had a hard time staying in my lane. This was particularly embarrassing while sitting in bumper-to-bumper traffic with the windows down. I used to get some strange looks from other drivers when they could see I was in the car alone. Having a good laugh enabled me to ignore the less-than-courteous drivers I encountered during my ride.

  2. Nancy Adams said,

    March 29, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    Thanks, Grace. I’ll have to look up her books the next time I need a laugh!


Leave a Reply

